Insurance
Sector Information
Insurance
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


Sector Overview

Due to the ageing population and rising of mass affluent class, the demand for insurance products and financial planning has gone up significantly, contributing to the performing insurance industry. In 2020, total gross premiums achieved a year-on-year growth of 4.9%, amounting to HK$608.4 billion .

In respect of policies issued to Mainland visitors, new office premiums amounted to HK$6.8 billion, representing roughly 5.1% of the total new premiums for individual business in 2020.

Insurance business can be classified into long-term and general businesses. Individual life and annuity (linked and non-linked), group life, and retirement scheme are major long-term businesses which have high penetration in Hong Kong. The total amount of revenue premiums of long term in force business was HK$548.1 billion in 2020, representing a year-on-year growth of 4.5%.

Accident and health, and general liability constitute the majority of general insurance business. Motor vehicle, ships, property damage and pecuniary loss are also part of the industry. In 2020, gross premiums of general business recorded a year-on-year growth of 8.3% to HK$60.3 billion.

 

For more details about the Insurance Sector, please visit the website of The Insurance Authority: https://www.ia.org.hk/

保險
行業簡介
保險
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


行業簡介

隨著本地人口老化及富裕階層增加,刺激保險產品及財務策劃需求上升,令香港保險業蓬勃發展。於2020年,總毛保費按年錄得4.9%的增長,至6,084億港元。

在內地訪客業務方面,於2020年,相關新造保單保費達到68億港元,佔期內整體新造保單約5.1%。

保險業務可分長期及一般業務兩大類,長期業務主要包括個人人壽及年金(投資及非投資相連)、團體人壽及退休計劃,產品滲透率相當高。於2020年,長期有效業務的保費收入總額按年增長4.5%,至5,481億港元。

一般業務則主要包括意外及健康、一般法律責任,其次有汽車、船舶、財產損壞及金錢損失相關保險。於2020年,一般業務毛保費按年增長8.3%,至603億港元。

 

欲了解更多和保險業相關的資訊,請瀏覽保險業監管局網站:https://www.ia.org.hk/