FinTech
Sector Information
FinTech
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


Sector overview

With the innovation of new technological applications and solutions, the development of FinTech has marked the beginning of a new era in digitalisation.

While FinTech could mean differently in different contexts, it generally covers the use of artificial intelligence, blockchain, cloud computing, and big data in areas such as payments, clearing and settlement, deposits, lending and capital raising, insurance, investment management, and market support[1].

Hong Kong has witnessed reassuring progress of FinTech development. The city is home to over 600 FinTech companies and start-ups, including a flock of unicorns, globally recognised research centres and innovation laboratories. To date, eight virtual banks and four virtual insurers have been licensed to provide comprehensive financial services for business and the public[2].

The bright prospect of Hong Kong's FinTech industry is also evident in findings of a 2020 survey conducted by the Hong Kong Institute for Monetary and Financial Research, which shows that 86% of banks have adopted or plan to adopt FinTech solutions across all types of financial services[3].

 

[1] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/key-functions/international-financial-centre/fintech/

[2] https://www.news.gov.hk/eng/2021/01/20210118/20210118_131405_390.html

[3] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/news-and-media/press-releases/2020/05/20200520-5/

金融科技
行業簡介
金融科技
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


行業簡介

隨著新技術應用和解決方案的不斷創新,金融科技的發展標誌著數字化新時代的開始。

儘管金融科技在不同的情境中可能有不同的含義,其泛指在支付、結算和交收、存款、貸款和融資、保險、投資管理和市場支援等領域中使用人工智能、區塊鏈、雲計算和大數據[1]

香港的金融科技發展取得鼓舞人心的進展,共擁有600多家金融科技公司和初創企業,其中包括獨角獸公司、全球知名的研究中心和創新實驗室。迄今為止,八家虛擬銀行和四家虛擬保險公司已獲發牌照,可向企業和公眾提供綜合金融服務[2]

據香港貨幣及金融研究中心在2020年進行的一項調查顯示,香港金融科技行業前景亮麗, 86%的銀行在所有類型的金融服務中已採用或計劃採用金融科技解決方案[3]

 

[1] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/key-functions/international-financial-centre/fintech/

[2] https://www.news.gov.hk/eng/2021/01/20210118/20210118_131405_390.html

[3] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/news-and-media/press-releases/2020/05/20200520-5/