Banking
Sector Information
Banking
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


Sector Overview

As an international financial centre, Hong Kong is a prime location for financial services and home to many international financial institutions. Over 70 of the largest 100 banks around the globe have set up branches and over 29 multinational banks have established regional headquarters in Hong Kong.[1]

The banking sector plays an essential role as an intermediary in the financial system in Hong Kong, offering a wide-ranging financial services such as deposit-taking, lending, investment and insurance. In 2019, the total assets of banks in Hong Kong accumulated to over US$3,136 billion, 3.7 times from 2000.[2]

In 2020, thanks to the strong financial positions of banks, the banking sector stayed resilient. The sector’s balance sheet rose by 5.7% in 2020 with a significant growth in deposit funding. Moreover, the sector’s capital and liquidity positions of the sector remained robust[3].

 

For more details about the Banking Sector, please visit the website of The Hong Kong Monetary Authority:https://www.hkma.gov.hk/

 

[1] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/key-functions/banking/

[2] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/key-functions/international-financial-centre/hong-kong-as-an-international-financial-centre/#hong_kong_financial_service_sector_at_a_glance

[3] https://www.hkma.gov.hk/media/eng/publication-and-research/annual-report/2020/AR2020_E.pdf

银行
行业简介
银行
Alternate Text
Alternate Text


行业简介

香港作为国际金融中心,是金融服务的首选地点,也是众多国际金融机构的所在地。全球规模前100的银行中有70多家在香港设立分行,超过29家跨国银行在香港设置地区总部。[1]

在香港金融体系中,银行业扮演着重要的中介角色,提供各种金融服务,例如存款、贷款、投资和保险。2019年,香港银行的总资产超过31,360亿美元,是2000年的3.7倍。[2]

受惠于银行良好的财务状况,银行业于2020年保持稳健。随着存款的显著增长,银行业的资产负债表在2020年扩大5.7%。此外,银行业的资本和流动性维持充裕[3]

 

欲了解更多和银行业相关的资讯,请浏览香港金融管理局网站:https://www.hkma.gov.hk/