Privacy Policy


Privacy Policy

Financial Services Development Council (The Council) is committed to ensuring that all personal data collected is processed in accordance with the requirements of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance.

This Privacy Policy applies to your use of (1) our website (www.fsdc.org.hk) (Website), (2) the services accessible through the Website, and (3) our products and services. 

If you are under the age of 18, please consult your parents or guardian on the content of this Privacy Policy before providing any information about you to us.


Personal data collected and held

We may collect information about you when you visit our Website, attend our functions, use our services, register with us or communicate with us by phone, email or other means of communication. Such information may include your contact details (such as name, job title, company name, address, email address, telephone and fax numbers), professional or academic qualifications, a record of our contact with you and your areas of personal or professional interest.  Please note that if you do not provide us with certain information, we may not be able to provide you with certain services requested by you.

We may collect other information about you when you visit our Website.  Such information may include technical information, such as your device’s IP address, login information, browser information, operating system and platform, and information about your visit (such as clickstream data, pages you viewed, length of visit and page interaction information).  Our Website uses cookies, which are small text files placed on your device when you visit our Website, and other similar technologies to help us recognise your device on subsequent visits.  Cookies allow us to gauge what information is most useful or of interest to you and allow us to deliver a better user experience.  Cookies, however, keep the identity of our individual website users anonymous.  You may block or remove cookies on your device in your browser settings.  However, please note that this may cause some functions on the Website to not work properly and we may not be able to provide certain services requested by you.

We may also collect information about you from other sources. The Council collaborates with third parties, such as its regional counterparts, government or quasi-government bodies, non-government organisations, private business partners, contractors and other service providers.  We may collect personal data from them, social media platforms as well as those whom you have authorised to do so. 


Purposes of collecting and keeping personal data

The main purposes for which your personal data are kept, used and processed by the Council include (but not limited to):

  • To provide you with products and services
  • To provide you with information to facilitate you and your business to understand more about the Council and the financial services industry in Hong Kong
  • To promote you and your business in the relevant business sectors
  • To register you in events organised by the Council
  • To send you communications, publications, newsletters and invitations from time to time as you may have selected or requested, or that we consider relevant or of interest to you and your areas of interest

You may choose not to receive marketing or promotional materials from us by writing to the Data Protection Officer (see below for contact details) and we will cease to do so, without charge. If applicable law requires that we receive your explicit consent before we send you certain types of marketing communications, such as direct marketing, we will only do so after receiving your explicit consent.  We will also only disclose your personal data to third parties for use in direct marketing after receiving your explicit consent.  You may withdraw such consent at any time.

We may also use your personal data for:

  • allowing you to interact with our Website
  • general administration, including recordkeeping and database administration;
  • improving, troubleshooting, testing, implementing security measures, monitoring and administering our Website
  • public relations, data analysis, evaluation, market research, research and statistical purposes, such as measuring the success of our campaigns


Privacy of personal data

Your personal data collected will be kept confidential.  The Council will not divulge or sell personal data to external parties for their own purposes.  The Council may however provide your contact information to third parties to fulfill the purposes for which you provided such information:

  • Agents, contractors and personnel who provide services to Financial Services Development Council or to whom we have outsourced services (for example, to administer the distribution of materials, conduct market research or process data on our behalf)
  • Our professional advisers, including lawyers, accountants, tax advisors and auditors
  • Companies, businesses and the Council’s clients who request referrals of service providers.


Security and retention of personal data

Only authorised persons shall have access to, custody of and the means of processing personal data that the Council collects.  The Council promotes a privacy-aware culture that respects and is sensitive to the rights of its external contacts.

Data captured on-line or via the Website is retained on the Council’s server. Storage on the Council server is secure in accordance with the requirements of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region which protect against unauthorised or accidental access, processing, erasure or other use/

The Council retains personal data for so long as such data is still required for the purposes for which such data is collected.


Access to and correction of personal data

An individual may request access to his personal data held by the Council pursuant to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance. A fee may be charged (including photocopying, labour costs and other directly related costs) for dealing with a data access request. In addition, an individual may also request for correction of his personal data held by the Council if he considers that such data is inaccurate.

Under the Hong Kong Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance, you have the right:

  • to check whether we hold personal data about you and to access such data
  • to require us to correct inaccurate data
  • to ascertain our policies and practices in relation to personal data and the kind of personal held by us.

There may be situations where the Council is required to process your personal data in accordance with data protection laws in the European Union (EU), including the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).  If so, you have the right under the data protection laws in the EU:

  • to request access to and rectification or erasure of your personal data
  • to obtain restriction of processing or to object to processing of your personal data
  • to the right to data portability
  • to lodge a complaint about the processing of their personal data with their local data protection authority 

If you wish to exercise one of the above-mentioned rights, cease marketing communications, and/or raise questions or complaints, please contact us at:

Personal Information Officer

Financial Services Development Council

Unit 502, 5/F, Nexxus Building,

No. 41 Connaught Road Central,

Hong Kong

Email: info@fsdc.org.hk

 

Where permitted by law to do so, we may charge a reasonable fee for processing a data access request.

If there is any conflict between the Chinese and English versions of this Policy, the English version will prevail.

私隐政策


私隐政策

金融发展局致力确保所有局方收集的个人资料均按照《个人资料(私隐)条例》的规定处理。

此私隐政策适用於阁下使用 (1) 本网站(www.fsdc.org.hk)、(2) 经本网站连接的服务及 (3) 本局的产品及服务。

如阁下未满18岁,请在提供任何有关阁下的资料给予本局前,就此私隐政策的内容谘询阁下的父母或监护人。


所收集的个人资料

当阁下浏览本网站、参加由本局举办的活动、使用本局的服务、在本局进行登记、或与本局经电话、电邮或其他通讯形式联系时,我们或会收集您的个人资料。此等资料可包括您的基本联络资料 (如姓名、职位、公司名称、邮递地址、电邮地址、电话及传真号码) 、您的专业资格或学历、我们与您的联络记录,以及您於个人或专业方面感兴趣的范畴。如您没有向本局提供指定资料,本局可能无法提供您所要求的指定服务。

当阁下浏览本网站时,我们可能收集其他有关阁下的资料。此等资料可包括技术资料,如您的装置的IP 位址、登入资料、浏览器资料、操作系统及平台及您的浏览资料(如:点选流数据、您访问的网页、停留的时间及网页的互动资料)。本网站使用Cookies及其他相似技术,以便我们於阁下再次浏览网站时辨认阁下的装置。Cookies是一种小型文字档案,当您访问本网站时,Cookies会被储存在您的装置上。Cookies有助我们推断对阁下最有用或阁下最感兴趣的资料,以便我们提供更良好的用家体验。但Cookies会将本网站的个别用户身分保持匿名。您可於您的浏览设定中封锁或移除装置上的Cookies。但请注意这又可能令网站上的某些功能无法正常运作,及令我们可能无法提供您所要求的指定服务。

我们也可从其他来源收集您的资料。本局有与第三方合作,如其他地区的相对组织、官方或半官方组织、非政府组织、私人商业夥伴、承办商及其他服务供应商。我们可从上述组织、社交媒体平台及阁下已授权的第三方收集个人资料。


个人资料的主要用途

本局保存、使用及处理阁下的个人资料主要用作以下用途(包括但不限於):

  • 向您提供产品和服务
  • 向您提供资讯以协助您和您的业务了解本局及香港金融服务业
  • 在有关商业范畴为您及您的业务作宣传
  • 为您登记参与本局举办的活动
  • 不时寄送您选择或索取的或本局认为与您有关或您感兴趣的通讯、刊物、电子报及邀请

阁下如选择不从本局接收市场推广或宣传资料,只需通知本局的个人资料专员(见下列联络详情),本局将停止上述推广,并不会就此收费。如果适用法例要求本局在向阁下发送特定类型的推广通讯 (如直接传销) 前须先取得阁下的明确同意,本局将只会在取得阁下的明确同意後方向阁下发送该些类型的通讯。本局亦会在取得阁下明确同意後方向第三方披露阁下的个人资料以用作直接传销之用。阁下可随时撤回同意。

本局亦可能使用阁下的个人资料用作以下用途:

  • 使阁下与本网站互动
  • 一般行政事务,包括保存纪录及管理数据库
  • 改善、检修、试行及实施保安措施,监测及管理本网站
  • 公共关系、数据分析、评估、市场调查、研究及统计用途,如检讨本局活动的成功程度


个人资料的保障

您被收集的个人资料完全以保密处理。本局不会披露或出售个人资料予第三方作其他用途,但有可能向以下第三方人士提供您的联系方式以达到您提供资料的用途:

  • 为金融发展局服务的代理人、承办商或有关人士或为本局服务的外判商 (外判服务例子包括管理资料分发、进行市场调查或处理资料)
  • 本局的专业顾问,包括律师、会计师、税务顾问及核数师
  • 要求转介服务供应商的公司、企业或本局的客户


个人资料的保安及保存政策

只有获本局授权的人士才有权获取、保存及处理本局收集的个人资料。本局提倡重视私隐的文化,尊重提供联络资料人士的权利。

透过本局网站取得的资料,乃妥善储存於本局的伺服器内。本局根据香港特别行政区政府订明的规定处理储存於本局伺服器的资料,有效保护用户的个人资料不会在意外情况下被任何人士、或在任何情况下被未获授权人士获取、更改、删除、或用作其他用途。

金融发展局会一直保存用户的个人资料直至资料不再适用於收集的用途。


查阅及更正个人资料

任何人士皆可根据《个人资料(私隐)条例》的有关规定要求查阅本局所保存的其个人资料。局方或会收取有关查阅资料要求的所需费用,包括复印、人工成本及其他直接有关的成本费用。此外,若任何人士认为由本局所保存的其个人资料有不准确之处,皆可要求更正。

根据《个人资料(私隐)条例》,阁下有权:

  • 检查本局是否持有阁下的资料及查阅该等资料
  • 要求本局更正不准确的资料
  • 查明本局有关个人资料的政策及实务以及本局所持有的个人资料的性质。

本局可能於若干情况下需按欧盟的个人资料保护法律处理您的个人资料,包括一般资料保护规则(GDPR)。在该情况下,阁下有权依据欧盟的个人资料保护法律:

  • 要求取得和纠正,或删除阁下的个人资料
  • 限制或反对处理阁下的个人资料;
  • 具有资料便携性的权利
  • 就处理其个人资料向阁下所在地个人资料保护机构提出投诉

如阁下欲行使任何一项上述权利、停止市场推广通讯及/或提出问题或投诉,请以以下方式联络本局:

香港中环干诺道中41号

盈置大厦5楼502室

金融发展局

个人资料专员

电邮: info@fsdc.org.hk

 

如法律许可,本局可能收取处理查阅资料要求所需的合理费用。

如果本政策的中文与英文版本有任何抵触,应以英文版本为准。